No Fail Banana Muffins

My toddler’s favourite food is muffins (and crackers).  If I let her she would live off of just muffins and crackers.  I have several favourite recipes for muffins but my absolute favourite is a muffin recipe that has been passed down from my grandma, to my mom to me and hopefully to my grandchildren (but not for MANY years).  These muffins are Banana Chocolate Chip, by far one of the best combinations around.  I call these no fail muffins because it is pretty hard to screw them up!  I know this because I started to make these the other day and got partway through only to discover that we were missing a number of the ingredients.  But I made a few adjustments and kept going.

No Fail Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

3 Large Bananas
1/2 cup white sugar
1 Egg
1/3 cup melted butter
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups flour
chocolate chips

Mash the bananas with a fork.  Add in the sugar and egg, stir and then add in the melted butter.  Once mixed add in the dry ingredients.  Once all the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the batter fold in the chocolate chips.

Bake at 350F for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

I didn’t put a measurement in for the chocolate chips it varies each time I make it.  Generally I use 1/2 a cup or more but it all depends on how many I have in the cupboard.  I also generally use 2 bananas since that is generally how many are left in the bunch when they start to get spots on them perfect for baking.

This week when I made the muffins I didn’t realize that I was out of everything.  I only had milled flour in the house (from the first time I used my mill and it was the texture of corn meal, I have since learned how to use it properly), I also only had honey, 2 bananas and no chocolate chips.  I used an organic chocolate bar chopped up.  Still they turned out great!  If you do use honey for this recipe I would recommend scaling back the quantity because it is a bit sweeter than the sugar.

I hope you enjoy these muffins as much as we do!

2 thoughts on “No Fail Banana Muffins

  1. Pingback: Grandma’s Quick-Grain Muffins « G.I. Crockpot

  2. Pingback: Our Transition to Traditional Cooking. | The Diligent Housewife

Leave a Reply

