Photo a Day: Jan 30 Nature

This morning was bright and sunny. It was such a nice change from the grey days we have been having lately.  We got a fair amount of snow last night and everything was bright and sparkling.  On my way out to the garbage I snapped this picture of my chive pot.  I have a garden of herbs that grows close to my back door so that I am able to run out and grab what I need.  At the end of the summer I will grab a bunch and bring them in to dry them.  My herb garden isn’t very big, it has sage, oregano, thyme and lemon balm and I have a pot of chives close to the deck.  I like things that are easy to tend to and since the garden is in pretty much perpetual shade they need to be pretty hardy plants.

This summer I am going to attempt at a garden. I do not have a green thumb and I have a slight tendency to kill plants.  But I am hoping to plant some cucumbers and some other veggies.  I have no idea what, if you have any ideas feel free to pass them on.  I would love to plant some green beans but for some strange reason the leaves of the plants give me hives, but there is nothing better than a whole plate of green beans in the summer.  I guess as spring is getting closer I should really start to think about what to plant!

2 thoughts on “Photo a Day: Jan 30 Nature

  1. Well, I think tomatoes are a great place to start. They’re one of the biggest producers in the garden, measured pound per square foot, and you only have to have one plant to get a pretty sizeable harvest. (If you give the plant enough space, say 25 sq. ft., you could be getting ten or more pounds of tomatoes in the season.) If you want some more ideas, check out my recent post on things that did super-well in my Virginia garden last year: http://gettinfreshblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/29/last-years-vegetable-stars/. All the best to you in your gardening adventures!

    • Mmm I love tomatoes! I will have to give them a shot again. I tried a few years ago but sadly out of 4 plants I got 1 tomato. I’m sure part of it had to do with the fact I kind of forgot to water them. This year I have a helper so it would be a good project for my toddler to help with!

Leave a Reply

