Our Transition to Traditional Cooking.

Over the past year or so (well ever since I was pregnant with J) I started feeling really convicted about what we were eating. There weren’t enough vegetables and everything was super processed. I wasn’t gaining  any extra weight (aside from the baby growing inside of me) but I felt that we needed a change. That was when I really started reading about nutrition and different diet/ways of eating. The amount of information out there was HUGE! I was so incredibly confused.  I had learned some stuff about soaking nuts to increase their digestibility from a vegan friend of mine. I just kept reading anything I could get my hands on. Finally I cam across a number of different blogs that talk about this amazing cookbook. So I asked for it for Christmas. My brother in law purchase this cook book for me and said “here is the hippy-dippy crazy cookbook you requested.” I was thrilled when I opened the present and saw Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon.

I have found that I can relate more to the tradition method of preparing food. I am reminded of many stories that my grandmother told us of growing up in the depression and how they used many of these methods for preparing foods. It wasn’t until after the war, when she had children did she start using more processed foods (canned peas any one).

I still have a lot of learn and we still do eat some processed foods (we ordered a pizza last night, yum). But thanks to the vastness of the internet and large number of food bloggers out there I am learning day by day. I haven’t finished my copy of NT yet but I have tried a number of different recipes and they have all turned out fabulously. This isn’t the only book I have read/am reading on the subject I have a whole list of books that I want to read.

It was as I started learning about traditional cooking that I, by God’s grace, received a grain mill (read about it here). I was so excited to start grinding my own wheat. I got that in January and I am still grinding my own flour to make sourdough fails (otherwise known as bread), pizza dough, sandwich bread and muffins. I love watching the grain turns into flour and then into banana muffins or some other yummy delicacy.

For the most part my family has been very understanding! I mean my brother in law bought me NT and my mother in law gave me her grain mill and saves all of her jam jars for me. However I just don’t think they know the extent of how our food has changes, I mean I have ordered bacteria through the mail (more on this later this week) and I now always have jars of food sitting out on my counter, not in the fridge and my 3 year old talks about Kombucha (which they seem to think is a made up word). But they love me still the same! Even my husband who gags at the sight of strange food or mould tolerates the fact that I have things growing on my counter. It is so wonderful!

I am still on this journey and I hope to learn more and transition more of our food to real and traditional foods. I am always looking for books to read or good blogs so please feel free to make some suggestions. I am just about to head to the library to pick up a copy of Wild Fermentation by Sandor Katz I have been on a waiting list for WEEKS! I am pretty excited.

Shared as part of Traditional Tuesdays and Fight Back Friday.

5 thoughts on “Our Transition to Traditional Cooking.

  1. Hi Kristin! I stumbled upon your blog when I did a google search for “traditional foods”; I wanted to touch base with you because my fiance and I are also newly introduced to the traditional foods path and the Sally Fallon’s “crazy hippy dippy” book is by-and-large our go-to source! 😉 We have a blog too, where we explore life together, especially food! We are trying to get as healthy as possible so when we are ready to have kids together they will be given a good start 🙂 Its our goal that I become a “diligent housewife” in time as well–so I will be following your inspirational blog! 🙂

    • Aww thank you for your kind words! I have a couple…… hundred cookbook on my shelf that I look through but I have never really made anything out of them. However my lovely, in the words of my Brother in law “Crazy Hippy Dippy” cookbook is starting to show signs of wear and tear and I love it! I think it is great that you are starting your journey before having kids, I wish I had known more before I had kids. I look forward to reading your posts!

      • I have the same cookbook hoarding habits…actually, the NT book was one of the untouched for couple years while I pursued vegetarianism! The one that has gotten the most wear is my Betty Crocker cookbook–the one with the red cover! My fiance is damn-near obsessed with getting me into tip-top health before we get married…do you think he is planning something?! 😉 nyuk nyuk…anyway, its nice to meet ya! Good luck with things on the homefront! ^_^

  2. Hi. I’m a stranger. 🙂 Sorry to barge in like this, but I was looking for some information online for my daughter, and I ran across this post. I laughed out loud at the “hippy dippy crazy cookbook” comment and a few other things in your post, and I just had to tell ‘ya. I’m a Nourishing Traditions fan, too, and hope it’s still going well for you!

    Don’t even know if you’ll see this, but, oh well!
    Susan (that’s me!)

    • I always welcome strangers! I always giggle now anytime I pull out my hippie dippy book as it is now called in our house. I am gradually working my way through the cookbook and hoping at some point that I will be brave enough to try some of the recipes.

      I haven’t done a good job about keeping this up to date over the summer but I am hoping to have some yummy new posts soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

