What I’m Reading

I love books. In my house we have hundreds of books. We have 4 bookshelves stuffed full of books and then we have more books stored in boxes in the basement. I really need to go through and clear out some of them but then it is like getting rid of an old friend.

Wild Fermetation coverWhen I am reading I always try to have a mixture of fiction and non-fiction. This week I am reading 2 books. I am reading Sandor Katz’s first book Wild Fermentation. I am really enjoying it. I like the fact that it is more than just a cook book. He goes into some of the history and social issues behind the fermentation of food. I am only about 40 pages into it but I am really enjoying it. The only thing I don’t like about it is it is larger than a trade paperback book so it is hard to hold it with one hand while I am nursing 🙂

The fiction book that I am reading/was reading I finished it this morning was called Secret Daughter. It was a really wonderful read. I found it a little sad because it is based in India where there is a very large emphasis placed on having a male child. This book chronicles the life of an Indian woman who had a daughter but was forced to give her away to save her life. I found it a little close to home because I have two beautiful little girls and I couldn’t imagine having to give them up. I also found it very interesting since in the new around here there has been several stories of sex selection abortions around the country. Other than the depression nature of the subject this book was very well written and I read it in 2 days, it was that good!

What are you reading?

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading

  1. Secret Daughter reminds me a little of A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Al Hosseini.

    As for me, I only just finished reading Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green. Such a wonderful read, and I’m not ashamed to admit that it brought tears to my eyes.

  2. Great picks! I have one of Katz’s later books on hold at the library, but there are 5 other people in the queue before me so I have some time to wait! I am actually still slowly picking my way through NT…but I am also reading Walden and Christiane Northrup’s “Women’s Bodies, Women’s Wisdom.” I used to have over 300 books but I managed to get it down to a more manageable number 😉 Of course…I won’t tell how many eBooks I have…its just too shameful!!

    • Oh, finally read Wild Fermentation – Katz’s passion for social change through food was contagious! I really enjoyed it…and made sauerkraut and have plans to make honey mead later on! 😉 I also checked out the Complete Idiot’s Guide to Fermented Foods by Wardeh Harmon; the recipes are more detailed which makes me a bit more comfortable since I am pretty new to the fermenting department 😉

Leave a Reply

